Institute for Clinical and Experimental Medicine and Motol University Hospital, Prague

Czech Republic

ikem_photo.jpg

Contact Information for physicians and patients

Institute for Clinical and Experimental Medicine
Department of Hepatogastroenterology 
Videnska 1958/9 
CZ – 14021 Prague 
Czech Republic 
rare.liver(at)ikem.cz

Motol University Hospital 
Department of Pediatrics 
V Uvalu 84
CZ – 15006 Prague

Particular rare liver disease expertise of the centre

  • Primary Biliary Cholangitis (PBC)
  • Autoimmune Hepatitis (AIH)
  • Primary Sclerosing Cholangitis (PSC)
  • IgG4 Disease
  • Genetic Cholestatic Disease
  • Alpha-1-Antitrypsin Deficiency (A1ATD)
  • Wilson Disease
  • Cystic Liver Disease
  • Vascular Liver Disease
  • Rare liver tumours
  • Acute Liver Failure
  • Liver disease in pregnancy

ERN Representatives

  • jan_sperl_photo.jfif

    Assoc. Prof. Jan Sperl, MD, PhD

    Specialist in Internal Medicine and Gastroenterology, consultant Hepatologist

    Institute for Clinical and Experimental Medicine

  • milan_jirsa_photo.jfif

    Prof. Milan Jirsa, MD, MSc, PhD

    Specialist in Clinical Biochemistry and Human Genetics, research leader in Experimental Hepatology

    Institute for Clinical and Experimental Medicine

ERN Team and Contact

Institute for Clinical and Experimental Medicine:

  • Sona Frankova, MD, PhD, specialist in Gastroenterology, consultant Hepatologist: sona.frankova@ikem.cz
  • Veronika Pitova, MD, physician at the Department of Hepatogastroenterology veronika.pitova@ikem.cz
  • Mikolas Holinka, MD, physician at the Department of Hepatogastroenterology mikolas.holinka@ikem.cz
  • Petra Truxova, Dipl Ing, Clinical Coordinator petra.truxova@ikem.cz

Motol University Hospital:

  • Radana Kotalova, MD, PhD, specialist in Paediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition radana.kotalova@fnmotol.cz
  • Katarina Mitrova, MD, PhD, specialist in Paediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition katarina.mitrova@fnmotol.cz
  • Marianna Durilova, MD, PhD, specialist in Paediatric Gastroenterolofgy, Hepatology and Nutrition marianna.durilova@fnmotol.cz
  • Eva Vlckova, MD, physician at the Department of Paediatric eva.vlckova@fnmotol.cz

Centre information

The Prague ERN Rare-Liver Centre is a consortium of two clinical centres.
Institute for Clinical and Experimental Medicine (IKEM) was founded in 1971 and serves as a hospital and a research centre. The main goal of the Institute is to provide highly specialised medical care in the area of cardiovascular surgery, cardiology and solid organ transplantation. The liver transplant program was launched in 1995. Department of Hepatogastroenterology is specialized in care of patients involved in the liver transplant program (i. e. follow-up of cirrhotic patients and their pre-transplant work-up, and, after successful transplantation, the liver transplant recipients follow-up). Since 1995, the number of liver transplantations performed has gradually increased and overcame 150 in the last years. Not only patients with advanced liver disease have been referred to the Department of Hepatogastroenterology, but also those with all chronic and acute liver diseases including rare diseases. The department is the largest liver centre in the Czech Republic. Approximately 500 new non-cirrhotic patients per year are offered highly specialised therapy in the field of hepatology, including rare liver diseases (primary biliary cirrhosis, primary sclerosing cholangitis, autoimmune hepatitis, Wilson´s disease, hereditary hemochromatosis, alpha-1-antitrypsin deficiency etc.).

Motol University Hospital is the biggest children’s hospital in Czech Republic. Gastroenterology Unit at the Department of Paediatrics provides the full range of diagnosticmethods and therapeutical procedures in the field of diseases of digestive tract and the liver. It is an accredited institution in the field and the biggest children’s hepatology centre in the Czech Republic.