Gregorio Marañon University General Hospital

Hospital Gregorio Maranon

Contact Information for physicians/patients

There are three ways to contact us:

- Phone: Hepatology Department Secretary: 0034-915868308

- Email: evasculareshepaticas@salud.madrid.org

- In-person: Sixth floor of the main building at Gregorio Marañón University General Hospital.
Address: Dr. Esquerdo 46, 28007, Madrid, Spain.

Particular rare liver disease expertise of the centre

The Liver Unit of the Gregorio Marañon University General Hospital has extensive experience in managing the entire spectrum of liver disease, thanks to the large patient population it serves and the significant number of patients referred from other centres, both from Madrid and from other regions. Our centre provides all the necessary services for the treatment of liver diseases, including a liver hemodynamic unit, a vast expertise in the placement of TIPS, and a liver transplant program with over 30 years of experience. Likewise, our department is part of a leading centre in many other fields that are equally relevant for the management of patients with liver diseases such as interventional radiology, hepatobiliary surgery, and cardiology among others. Moreover, the Hospital has a great development in deep sequencing and clinical exome analysis in the evaluation of rare liver diseases.

In parallel to our clinical activity, our centre has an extensive research experience. Our department head, Dr. Bañares, who is currently the Vice President of the Spanish Association for the Study of the Liver, along with our Head of Hepatology, Dr. Salcedo, have led multiple projects at both national and international levels, encompassing basic and clinical research. Likewise, all the physicians in our unit actively participate in diverse projects, playing a pivotal role in numerous multicenter (both national and international) liver-related projects. Furthermore, the Liver Unit has been involved in different national and international research networks specifically dedicated to vascular liver diseases, a characteristic example of rare liver diseases. Additionally, the facilities for performing NGS have contributed to the diagnosis of other rare liver diseases in adults. Therefore, we believe that our involvement in the ERN-Liver can bring added value as a collaborative centre.


ERN Representatives

  • Picture Rafael Banares

    Rafael Bañares

    Chief of the Digestive System Diseases Department

  • Magdalena Salcedo

    Magdalena Salcedo

    Head of the Hepatology Section


ERN Team and Contact

ERN representatives:
Dr. Rafael Bañares Cañizares – rbanares@ucm.es
Dra. Magdalena Salcedo – magdalena.salcedo@salud.madrid.org

Physicians:
Dra. Maria Vega Catalina – mariavega.catalina@salud.madrid.org
Dr. Diego Rincón Rodríguez – diego.rincon@salud.madrid.org
Dr. Luis Ibáñez Samaniego – luis.ibanez@salud.madrid.org
Dr. Andrés Conthe Alonso – andres.conthe@salud.madrid.org
Dra. Ainhoa Fernández-Yunquera – afernandezy@salud.madrid.org
Dr. Mario Romero Cristóbal – mario.romero@salud.madrid.org
Dr. Fernando Díaz Fontenla – fernando.diaz@salud.madrid.org
Dra. Ana Clemente Sánchez – ana.clemente@salud.madrid.org
Dra. Sonia Alonso López – sonia.alonso@salud.madrid.org
Dra. Adriana Ahumada Jiménez – adriana.ahumada@salud.madrid.org
Dra. Ana Matilla Peña – ana.matilla@salud.madrid.org
Dra. Laura Márquez Pérez – laura.marquez@salud.madrid.org
Dra. Laura Carrión Martín – laura.carrion@salud.madrid.org

Advanced practice nurses
María Teresa Hernando Cubas – mhernandoc@salud.madrid.org
Carmen Corps Hernández – carmen.corps@gmail.com


Centre information

Our Liver unit is included within the Department of Digestive diseases of the Gregorio Marañon University General Hospital in Madrid, Spain. Our hospital is a tertiary-level center that stands as one of the largest public healthcare centers in the city of Madrid, providing medical attention to an area of over 300,000 people. It also serves as a referral center for the entire southeastern region of Madrid and, as a liver transplant center, constitutes the primary referral hospital for liver transplant candidates for the region of Castilla-La Mancha. Likewise, the Liver Unit has a strong research focus, actively participating and leading numerous national and international clinical and translational projects.