San Gerardo Hospital - ASST Monza

Italy

San Gerardo Monza

Centre information

San Gerardo Hospital – ASST Monza is a public health centre of reference in the North of Italy, in close relationship with the School of Medicine of the University of Milano-Bicocca. The Centre for Autoimmune Liver Diseases (AILD) of San Gerardo Hospital is a highly specialized, tertiary referral centre that specializes in patient care, scientific research, teaching and training. The centre for AILD currently follows the biggest cohort of patients with AILD in Italy. We have launched the first Italian registry for primary biliary cholangitis (PBC), collecting data and biological material from blood, urine and liver tissue. Since many patients with PBC do not show a good response to current available therapies, we are also closely cooperating with pharmaceutical companies to develop innovative treatment options.
The Centre at San Gerardo Hospital has a multidisciplinary team including hepatology and liver transplantation specialists, and a network of other specialists working in diagnostic and interventional radiology, endoscopy, haematology, biochemistry, intensive care-anaesthesiology, liver and gastrointestinal surgery.


ERN Representatives

  • Pietro Invernizzi

    Pietro Invernizzi, MD, PhD

    Professor and Head

    Division Gastroenterology and Center for Autoimmune Liver Diseases


ERN Team and Contact

Marco Carbone, MD, PhD marco.carbone@unimib.it
Federica Malinverno, MD federica.malinverno@unimib.it
Alessio Gerussi, MD a.gerussi@campus.unimib.it
Laura Cristoferi, MD l.cristoferi@campus.unimib.it
Chiara Milani, PhD chiara.milani@unimib.it
Clara Mancuso, PhD clara.mancuso@unimib.it


Particular rare liver disease expertise of the centre

Primary biliary cholangitis (PBC)
Primary biliary sclerosing (PSC)
Autoimmune hepatitis (AIH)
Cholangiocarcinoma (CCA)


Contact Information for physicians/patients

Marco Carbone, MD, PhD marco.carbone@unimib.it
Federica Malinverno, MD federica.malinverno@unimib.it
Alessio Gerussi, MD a.gerussi@campus.unimib.it
Laura Cristoferi, MD l.cristoferi@campus.unimib.it

Links

Website